The UK government has delivered early on the commitment made in its spring statement to allow nationals from seven countries to use ePassport gates from June onwards.The gates, which use facial recognition technology to check passenger identity and maintain the UK's border security, will be available to visitors from the seven countries from May 20.The countries are: Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the United States.ePassport gates have been available to British and EU nationals since 2008. EU nationals will remain eligible to use them once the UK leaves the EU.The move has been designed to speed up border controls for low-risk countries.Home Secretary Sajid Javid said: "Our new global immigration and border system will improve security and fluidity for passengers coming to visit or work in the UK."Expanding the use of ePassport gates is a key part of this and allows us to improve the passenger experience of those arriving in the UK while keeping our border secure."The new system will help to drive our economy, cement our reputation as a global leader and send a clear message to the world – the UK is open for business."