The East African Community has allocated funds for study into a regional ePassport that would also be used by citizens of member states for international travel.The East African Legislative Assembly last week approved funds of US $49,840 for an assessment of the needs and preparedness of partner states to implement the new generation e-Passport.Plans to create the passport for citizens of Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Burundi and Rwanda were first raised in 2013.Currently, EAC member states issue an ordinary EAC passport for travel across the region, but not on international trips. The current passport gives the holder a six-month stay visa across the member states.Last year, officials said that the procurement of the necessary e-passport issuance infrastructure, passport booklets and capacity building for the immigration personnel need to be integrated into the 2015/16 budget cycle.A phase-out programme of the national passports as proposed in the roadmap must also be prepared by each partner state.